Graphs and Groups, Geometries and GAP (G2G2) Summer School - External Satellite Conference of 8ECM

Rogla, Slovenia

Rogla, Slovenia

Hotel Planja, Rogla 1, 3214 Zreče, Slovenia
Alexey Medvedev, Elena Konstantinova, Tanja Labus (University of Primorska)

    Satellite event of the 8th European Congress of Mathematics

                                               8ECM and EMS

G2G2-Summer School is associated with G2G2-Minisymposia of 8ECM. It belongs to the G2-series that are about strong and beautiful mathematics, especially those involving group actions on combinatorial objects.

The main goal of G2G2-Summer School is to bring together experts and students to exchange ideas and to enrich their mathematical horizons with focus on computational methods in mathematics and vertex operator algebras. We organize two minicourses each of which is presented in ten lectures including two problem solving sessions, and eight colloquium talks to let participants see order and simplicity from possibly new perspectives and share insights with experts. The two topics are linked together through Majorana Theory, which can be viewed as a finite dimensional extraction of vertex operator algebras.

Computer algebra systems are an invaluable research tool in finite group theory. Their use is becoming increasingly widespread and it is now virtually compulsory for young mathematicians to have some experience with computational methods. GAP is one of the pre-eminent computer algebra systems. Theory of vertex operator algebras holds a prominent position in recent studies of algebraic combinatorics as a rich source of combinatorial structures with actions of finite groups. However, other connections between vertex operator algebras and finite groups have been largely unexplored, despite a large body of research that has now developed in the field of vertex operator algebras. It is crucial that these two rich areas of mathematics are once again united and the G2G2 school offers the perfect opportunity for this. Any young researcher interested in algebraic combinatorics and finite groups would benefit enormously from these two minicourses as well as, of course, the opportunity to present their own work and to discuss research with the other attendees.

This Summer School was supported by EMS - European Mathematical Society.

Venue: The Summer School will be held at Hotel Planja, Rogla. Situated at around 1500m above sea level, its beautiful natural scenery provides pleasant climate conditions and stimulating working environment. For more information, see


  • Clara Franchi, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy
  • Alexander A. Ivanov, Imperial College London, UK
  • Elena Konstantinova, Sobolev Institute of Mathematics, Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Science, Novosibirsk State University, Russia
  • Mario Mainardis, University of Udine, Italy

Organizing committee:

  • Ekaterina Khomyakova, Novosibirsk State University, Russia
  • Alexey Medvedev, Université de Namur, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • Madeleine Whybrow, University of Primorska, Koper, Slovenia

Organized by:

  • UP FAMNIT - University of Primorska, Faculty of Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Information Technologies
  • UP IAM - University of Primorska, Andrej Marušič Institute Slovenian Discrete and Applied Mathematics Society

In Collaboration with:

  • Sobolev Institute of Mathematics
  • Novosibirsk State University
  • Krasovskii Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics
  • Ural Federal University
  • Imperial College London
  • Department of Mathematics and Physics - Catholic University of the Sacred Heart - Brescia
  • Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Physics - University of Udine


  • EMS - European Mathematical Society
  • ARRS - Slovenian Research Agency
  • MIZS - Ministry of Education, Science and Sport
  • MCA - Mathematical Center in Akademgorodok

Any questions should be directed to

Sobolev Institute of Mathematics, Novosibirsk State University, Krasovskii Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics, Ural Federal University, Imperial College London

  • Ademir Hujdurović
  • Alejandra Ramos-Rivera
  • Aleksander Malnič
  • Ales Oven
  • Alexandr Valyuzhenich
  • Alexey Medvedev
  • Alonso Castillo-Ramirez
  • Amar Bapić
  • Ana Grbac
  • Andrés David Santamaría-Galvis
  • Atsushi Matsuo
  • Blas Fernández
  • Bojan Kuzma
  • Boštjan Frelih
  • Dmitry Churikov
  • Dorian Smith
  • Dragan Marušič
  • Elena Konstantinova
  • Evgeniia Sotnikova
  • Gianfranco Oldani
  • Grigory Ryabov
  • György Kiss
  • Hendrik van Maldeghem
  • Ilaria Cardinali
  • Ivona Traunkar
  • John van Bon
  • Kamilla Rekvenyi
  • Klavdija Kutnar
  • Kristina Ilenko
  • Leonard Soicher
  • Leonid Shalaginov
  • Lorenzo Sauras Altuzarra
  • Marina Šimac
  • Marta Tameni
  • Matea Zubović
  • Matteo Mravić
  • Mikhail Golubyatnikov
  • Natalia Maslova
  • Nikolai Minigulov
  • Nina Mostarac
  • Nino Bašić
  • Penjich Safet
  • Peter Muršič
  • René Rodríguez Aldama
  • Rhys Evans
  • Rok Strašek
  • Sadmir Kudin
  • Sara Ban
  • Sergei Lando
  • Sergey Shpectorov
  • Signe Lundqvist
  • Tanja Labus
  • Tim Burness
  • Tin Zrinski
  • Tomaž Pisanski
  • Viljem Tisnikar
  • Vladislav Kabanov
  • Yoav Segev
Organizing Committee